Lance Todd Trophy Winners

The Lance Todd Trophy is awarded to the Man-of-the-Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

The trophy was introduced in 1946, in memory of Lance Todd, the New Zealand-born player and administrator, who was killed in a road accident during the Second World War.

The winner is selected by the members of the Rugby League Writers' Association present at the game and the trophy is presented at a celebratory dinner at AJ Bell Stadium, home of Salford Red Devils.

The trophy belongs to the Red Devils Association, the official body representing ex-Salford players.

The first winner of the trophy was Wakefield Trinity Centre, Billy Stott in 1946.

St Helens' Sean Long made history in 2006 becoming the first player to win the Lance Todd Trophy three times (he also won in 2001 and 2004).

Four players share the accolade of winning the trophy twice: Warrington's Gerry Helme in 1950 and 1954; Wigan's Andy Gregory in 1988 and 1990; Wigan's Martin Offiah in 1992 and 1994; St. Helens' Paul Wellens in 2007 (jointly) and 2008.

Robbie Paul, Gary Connolly and Kevin Sinfield have all won the award since 1996 despite each of them finishing on the losing side in their respective finals.

2015 - Tom Briscoe (Leeds Rhinos)

tom briscoe

A record breaking 5 try display in Leeds' 50-0 win over Hull Kingston Rovers saw Tom Briscoe named the 2015 Lance Todd Trophy winner in the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Final at Wembley Stadium.

Past Lance Todd Trophy Winners

2014: Ryan Hall, Leeds Rhinos (v Hull KR), Winger

2013: Matty Smith, Wigan Warriors (v Hull FC), Half back

2012:  Brett Hodgson, Warrington Wolves (v Leeds Rhinos), Full Back

2011:  Jeff Lima, Wigan Warriors (v Leeds Rhinos), Prop

2010:  Lee Briers, Warrington Wolves (v Leeds Rhinos), Stand-off
2009:  Michael Monaghan, Warrington Wolves (v Huddersfield Giants), Hooker
2008:  Paul Wellens, St Helens (v Hull FC), Full Back
2007:  Leon Pryce, St Helens (v Catalans Dragons), Stand-off
2007:  Paul Wellens, St Helens (v Catalans Dragons), Full back
2006:  Sean Long, St Helens (v Huddersfield Giants), Scrum half
2005:  Kevin Sinfield, Leeds Rhinos (v Hull FC), Loose forward
2004:  Sean Long, St Helens (v Wigan Warriors), Scrum half
2003:  Gary Connolly, Leeds Rhinos (v Bradford Bulls), Full back
2002:  Kris Radlinski, Wigan Warriors (v St. Helens), Full back
2001:  Sean Long, St. Helens (v Bradford bulls), Scrum half
2000:  Henry Paul, Bradford Bulls (v Leeds Rhinos), Stand off
1999:  Leroy Rivett, Leeds Rhinos (v London Broncos), Winger
1998:  Mark Aston, Sheffield Eagles (v Wigan), Scrum half
1997:  Tommy Martyn, St. Helens (v Bradford Bulls), Stand off
1996:  Robbie Paul, Bradford Bulls (v St. Helens), Scrum half
1995:  Jason Robinson, Wigan (v Leeds), Winger
1994:  Martin Offiah, Wigan (v Leeds), Winger
1993:  Dean Bell, Wigan (v Widnes), Loose forward
1992:  Martin Offiah, Wigan (v Castleford), Winger
1991:  Denis Betts, Wigan (v St. Helens), Second row
1990:  Andy Gregory, Wigan (v Warrington), Scrum half
1989:  Ellery Hanley, Wigan (v St. Helens), Loose forward
1988:  Andy Gregory, Wigan (v Halifax), Scrum half
1987:  Graham Eadie, Halifax (v St. Helens), Full back
1986:  Bob Beardmore, Castleford (v Hull Kingston Rovers), Scrum half
1985:  Brett Kenny, Wigan (v Hull), Stand off
1984:  Joe Lydon, Widnes (v Wigan), Centre
1983:  David Hobbs, Featherstone Rovers (v Hull), Second row
1982:  Eddie Cunningham, Widnes (v. Hull), Centre
1981:  Mick Burke Widnes, (v Hull Kingston Rovers), Full back
1980:  Brian Lockwood, Hull Kingston Rovers (v Hull), Prop
1979:  David Topliss, Wakefield Trinity (v Widnes), Stand off
1978:  George Nicholls, St. Helens (v Leeds), Second row
1977:  Steve Pitchford, Leeds (v Widnes), Prop
1976:  Geoff Pimblett, St. Helens (v Widnes), Full back
1975:  Ray Dutton, Widnes (v Warrington), Full back
1974:  Derek Whitehead, Warrington (v Featherstone Rovers), Full back
1973:  Steve Nash, Featherstone Rovers (v Bradford Northern), Scrum half
1972:  Kel Coslett, St. Helens (v Leeds), Loose forward
1971:  Alex Murphy, Leigh (v Leeds), Scrum half
1970:  Bill Kirkbride, Castleford (v Wigan), Second row
1969:  Malcolm Reilly, Castleford (v Salford), Loose forward
1968:  Don Fox, Wakefield Trinity (v Leeds), Prop
1967:  Carl Dooler, Featherstone Rovers (v Barrow), Scrum half
1966:  Len Killeen, St. Helens (v Wigan), Winger
1965:   Brian Gabbitas,Hunslet (v Wigan), Stand off
           Ray Ashby, Wigan (v Hunslet), Full back
1964:  Frank Collier, Widnes (v Hull Kingston Rovers), Prop
1963:  Harold Poynton, Wakefield Trinity (v Wigan), Stand off
1962:  Neil Fox, Wakefield Trinity (v Huddersfield), Centre
1961:  Dick Huddart, St. Helens (v Wigan), Second row
1960:  Tommy Harris, Hull (v Wakefield Trinity), Hooker
1959: Brian McTigue, Wigan (v Hull), Second row
1958:  Rees Thomas, Wigan (v Workington Town), Scrum half
1957:  Jeff Stevenson, Leeds (v Barrow), Scrum half
1956:  Alan Prescott, St. Helens (v Halifax), Prop
1955:  Jack Grundy, Barrow (v Workington Town), Second row
1954:  Gerry Helme, Warrington (v Halifax), Scrum half
1953:  Peter Ramsden, Huddersfield (v St. Helens), Stand off
1952:  Billy Ivison, Workington Town (v Featherstone Rovers), Loose forward
1951:  Cec Mountford, Wigan (v Barrow), Stand off
1950:  Gerry Helme, Warrington (v Widnes), Scrum half
1949:  Ernest Ward, Bradford Northern (v Halifax), Centre
1948:  Frank Whitcombe, Bradford Northern (v Wigan), Prop
1947:  Willie Davies, Bradford Northern (v Leeds), Stand off
1946:  Billy Stott, Wakefield Trinity(v Wigan), Centre

Multiple Winners

3 - Sean Long, St Helens
2 - Gerry Helme, Warrington
2 - Martin Offiah, Wigan
2 - Paul Wellens, St Helens

Winners by Club

14 - Wigan
13 - St Helens
6 - Leeds
5 - Bradford
5 - Warrington
5 - Widnes
4 - Wakefield
3 - Castleford
3 - Featherstone
1 - Barrow
1 - Halifax
1 - Huddersfield
1 - Hull
1 - Hull KR
1 - Sheffield
1 - Leigh
1 - Workington

The Challenge Cup