Club Finder

Find Your Nearest Rugby League Club

Experience The Extraordinary

http://www.extraordinaryrugby.com/

Disciplinary Item

Back

Case Number ON/056/14
Name Scott Moore
Club London Broncos
Shirt Number 9
Match London Broncos v Salford Red Devils
Competition Super League
Date 22/02/14
Incident considered Dangerous Contact in 56th minute (Griffin)
Decision Charge
Details of Charge / Reason for NF Rule – 15.1(i) Detail - A defending player, in effecting a tackle, makes dangerous contact (either direct or indirect) with the supporting leg or legs of an attacking player who has been held in the tackle and who is deemed to be in a vulnerable position, in a way that involves an unacceptable risk of injury to that player. Grade – D
Range of Recommended Sanctions in relation to Charged Grade* 3-5
Date of Disciplinary Committee 25/02/14
Evidence provided DVD
 
Decision On Charge
Player plea Not guilty
Summary of CM's submissions on the Charge / evidence The Match Review Panel carefully considered this incident and were very concerned at the technique used. As you can see from the DVD Darrell Griffin has the ball and is held in a vulnerable position by London tacklers albeit he is still making some forward progress. Moore approaches from a distance and makes contact with his opponent’s leg just above the knee area. Moore drives with his legs after making contact which exerts a high level of force on his opponent’s leg. Furthermore although the angle of the back is flat, the nature of contact means that the force is being exerted in a downwards direction which means that the pressure is against the natural bend of the knee. It is this combination of point of impact, the amount and the direction of the force that make this tackle unsafe. Mr Moore could have completed the tackle in an alternative way but instead made the tackle in a way that involved an unacceptable risk of injury to his opponent. As you are aware, the policy regarding Dangerous Contact with the legs was modified for the 2014 season and there is a renewed focus on this type of tackle as a result of a desire from within the game to protect players from unacceptable risk of injury. After this tackle Griffin receives treatment for several minutes before being taken from the field of play. Included in the evidence is an email from Dr Baxter, the Salford Doctor, who has confirmed that Griffin has suffered a medial collateral ligament of his knee. It is the Panel’s submission that this tackle was Dangerous Contact and did involve an unacceptable risk of injury to his opponent. Due to the deliberate manner in which Mr Moore dives in to the tackle the MRP have categorised this incident as a Grade D offence. Defenders have a responsibility to avoid such contact when making a tackle.
Summary of Player's submissions on the Charge / evidence Hearing conducted via Skype with player and Head Coach Tony Rea. Player pleads not guilty to charge. Disagree that the opponent was in a vulnerable position when tackle made. The player feels it was a genuine and legitimate contact whilst the opponent is still making progress. The club feel he did not target the knee as suggested in the charge and disagree that there was downward pressure. Players are allowed to tackle from the side. The player sees the opponent take the ball and spins and continues to make progress albeit backwards. Player Moore looks and goes into to bundle up his legs. A 3 man tackle is part of the game. It looks as though the opponent may have jarred his knee out prior to the tackle. The DVD shows the tackle starts with two men and it is conceded that at that point the player may have been vulnerable. Moore does not go in at that point. He does not drive through and had no intent or malice against the opponent of whom he is a personal friend. Went into win the tackle and not to hurt the opponent.
Decision Not guilty
Reasons for Decision The tribunal are thankful for the way the case has been presented. Having viewed the DVD very carefully this tribunal feel the player is not guilty. The tribunal appreciate the opponent may have been in a vulnerable position but do not believe he was at the time the tackle was made. The tribunal are satisfied the knee was not targeted and there was not excessive downward pressure by the opponent. The tribunal are aware that this type of contact has the potential for serious injury and have to be considered very carefully. The tribunal feel that in this instance the charge is not fully made out and as a result find this player not guilty
 
Decision On Sanction (where found to have committed Misconduct)
Summary of CM's submissions on the appropriate sanction
Summary of Player's submissions on the appropriate sanction
Aggravating Factors
Mitigating Factors
Reasons for Decision
Suspension
Fine
Warning