Super League

Super League is the top-level professional Rugby League club competition in Europe.

The league has twelve teams: eleven from England and one from France. A play-off structure is used to determine the champions.

Super League began in 1996, replacing the RFL Championship and switching from a winter to a summer season.

Each team plays 23 games between February and September: 11 home games, 11 away games and a Magic Weekend game at a neutral venue.

At the end of the season, the top eight teams enter the Super League Super 8 leading to the Grand Final, which determines the champions.

Championship and League 1

Below the Super League, there are two competitions, the Kingstone Press Championship and the Kingstone Press League 1.

The 12 Championship clubs will also play 23 matches, home and away plus one fixture at the Summer Bash.

The club finishing in positions 1-4 at the end of the regular season will join the 4 clubs who finished 9th-12th in the First Utility Super League in the Qualifier Super 8.

In the Qualifiers, the top three clubs at the conclusion of the Super 8s are also guaranteed Super League status the following season.

The 12th place in Super League for the following season will be determined by the Million Pound Game, a play-off between the 4th and 5th placed clubs played at the home of the 4th placed club.

The 14 League 1 clubs will each play 22 games – 11 home and 11 away, playing each other once and nine teams twice with fixtures scheduled on a geographical basis.

At the end of the regular season 1st will play 2nd with the winner promoted to the Championship as champions.

The loser of that match will join the teams which finished 3rd, 4th and 5th in a play-offs series as follows: loser of the promotion decider v 5th, and 3rd v 4th.

The winners of those semi-finals will contest a play-off final to determine the second promotion place.

National Conference League

The NCL sits in tier three of the Rugby League structure.

The NCL is made up of four divisions.

The Premier and First Divisions consist of 14 clubs, with 11 clubs in Division Two and 12 clubs in Division Three.

Only the Premier division operates with play-offs to decide the league champions.

The NCL voted to switch to a summer season in 2011 and after an interim season from August to November commenced its very first full summer campaign on 3 March 2012.

Conference League South

Conference League South also sits in tier three and is currently made up of six teams.

Each team in Conference League South plays each other three times during the season with one of the rounds being played at a central venue.

The top four teams will qualify for the end of season play-offs to decide the winner.

Regional Leagues

Regional Leagues make up the base of the Rugby League pyramid.  

Regional Leagues exist throughout the UK and consist of playing opportunties for Men, Women, Boys and Girls starting from the age of six. 

Regional League competitons are mainly made up of the traditional forms of the game however they also include exciting alternatives like Wheelchair Rugby League.