Club Finder

Find Your Nearest Rugby League Club


Girls Finals line-Up confirmed

15th of May 2014
Girls Finals line-Up confirmed

Schools book places at August finals.

The line-up for the 2014 girls Champion Schools Finals has been confirmed following the final hotly contested national festivals at Oulton Raiders and Thatto Heath Crusaders.

At Year 7 in the semi-finals Wade Deacon High School (Halton) beat Abraham Guest Academy (Wigan) 12-6 to set up a final against Castleford Academy who overcame Settle College (North Yorkshire) 14-0.

In the Year 8 competition, St Peter’s (Manchester) and Sirius Academy (Hull) where the stand out teams. St Peter’s overcame Wade Deacon (Halton) 30-0 in their semi-final whilst Sirius posted a similar score of 34-0 against Leigh Academy (Kent).

Finally at Year 9 all four of the semi-finalists looked like they would easily make it to the final during the group stage before Ossett Academy (Wakefield) scored a last minute try to see off St Edmund Arrowsmith 12-10 in their semi-final, whist Castleford Academy scored a couple of late tries the beat reigning champions Deanery (Wigan) 18-0.

The finals, to be played at Richmond Athletic Club on Friday August 22 as part of the Challenge Cup Final weekend are;

Year 7 Wade Deacon High School (Halton) v Castleford Academy (Wakefield)
Year 8 St Peter’s (Manchester) v Sirius Academy (Hull)
Year 9 Ossett Academy (Wakefield) v Castleford Academy (Wakefield)
Year 10 Castleford Academy (Wakefield) v Leigh Academy (Kent)

A full breakdown of all the results can be found here

Year 7 National Festival Finalists
Wade Deacon High School
Monkseaton High School (North Tyneside)
Richmond Park Academy (London)
Settle College (North Yorkshire)
Castleford Academy (Wakefield)
The Malling School (Kent)
Abraham Guest Academy (Wigan)

Year 8 National Festival Finalists
St Peter’s RC High School (Manchester)
St Benedicts High School (Copeland)
Leigh Academy (Kent)
Sirius Academy (Hull)
Richmond Park Academy (London)
Seaton Sluice Middle School (Northumberland)
Wade Deacon High School (Halton)

Year 9 National Festival Finalists
Deanery High School (Wigan)
Dowdales High School (Barrow)
St John Fisher High School (Kent)
Ossett Academy (Wakefield)
Castleford Academy (Wakefield)
Fort Pitt Grammar School (Kent)
Whitburn Academy (South Tyneside)
St Edmund Arrowsmith RC High School (Wigan)

Related Video