Academy U16

bateman

By providing a high standard of talent identification and talent development the Academy Under-16 programme will lead to better quality players playing in a more intense Super league competition. This will ultimately lead to England sustaining international success on a regular basis.

The Academy Under-16 programme is an integral part of the England player development pathway. It is operated by professional clubs and RFL Regional Academies.

These environments are quality assured on an annual basis to monitor their productivity, how the needs of players are met, the leadership and management and how they set about identifying and developing talent for the game and England.

Academies are allowed to register up to 40 players per year. These 40 can be drawn from both the Under-16 and Under15 age groups. In addition players may be offered a six week trial period.

Academies provide athletes with a holistic development programme that covers all areas of player development; technical, tactical, athletic development, lifestyle and mental skills. These are delivered appropriate to the player’s age and stage.

Alongside the progressive learning environment there are eight playing opportunities that serve several purposes. These are used to benchmark and monitor the progress of the players and perhaps provide an appropriate playing opportunity for younger players within the group who have shown good progress through their Under-15 year.

At the end of the Under-16 programme there will inevitably be selection for Under-19 Academies.

Whilst not all players will receive a professional contract, all players are encouraged by the professional clubs and Regions to continue in the game at community club and or student level.

Playing League Contacts

BARROW YOUTH
Alan Davidson
E: alan.davidson@rfl.uk.com

HULL YOUTH
Carol Bailey
E: carol.hullisberg@gmail.com

LONDON JUNIORS
Martin Coyd
E: coyd@blueyonder.co.uk

MIDLANDS JUNIORS
Chris Spurr
E: chris.spurr@rfl.uk.com

NORTH EAST JUNIORS
Jan Robinson
E: jansuro@sky.com

NORTH WEST YOUTH
Tammy Smith
E: tammysmith567@btinternet.com

NORTH WEST COUNTIES 13-15
Jackie Clowes
E: jackie.clowes65@live.co.uk

YORKSHIRE JUNIORS
Charlie Bray
E: charles.bray1@ntlworld.com

WEST CUMBRIA YOUTH
Joe Elliot
E: joe.rugby13@btinternet.com

Academy Heads Of Youth

BRADFORD BULLS
Paul Medley
E: paul.medley@bradfordbulls.co.uk

CASTLEORD TIGERS
Pete Riding
E: pete@castigers.com

CUMBRIA
Dave Clark
E: dave.clark@rfl.uk.com

FEATHERSTONE ROVERS
Robin Sharp
E: spike72sharp@yahoo.co.uk

HUDDERSFIELD GIANTS
Andy Kelly
E:

HULL FC
Danny Wilson
E: danny.wilson@hullfc.com

HULL KINGSTON ROVERS
Peter Greyburn
E: peter.grayburn@hullkr.co.uk

LEEDS RHINOS
Barrie McDermott
E: barrie.mcdermott@leedsrugby.com

LONDON BRONCOS
tbc

MIDLANDS
Steve Crooks
E: steve.crooks@rfl.uk.com

NORTH EAST
Lee Crooks
E: lee.crooks@rfl.uk.com

SALFORD RED DEVILS
Alan Hunte
E: alan.hunte@reds.co.uk

SHEFFIELD EAGLES
Darren Higgins
E: darren.higgins@sheffieldeagles.com

ST HELENS
Neil Kilshaw/Derek Traynor
E: neilkilshaw@saintsrlfc.com / derektraynor@saintsrlfc.com

WAKEFIELD TRINITY WILDCATS
Ryan Hudson
E: ryanhudson@wakefieldwildcats.co.uk

WARRINGTON WOLVES
Ben Lazenby
E: benlazenby@warringtonwolves.com

WIDNES VIKINGS
Phil Finney
E: philf@widnesvikings.co.uk