Super League

Super League is the top-level professional Rugby League club competition in Europe.

The league has fourteen teams: thirteen from England and one from France. A play-off structure is used to determine the champions.

Super League began in 1996, replacing the RFL Championship and switching from a winter to a summer season.

Each team plays 27 games between February and September: 13 home games, 13 away games and a Magic Weekend game at a neutral venue.

At the end of the season, the top eight teams enter play-offs leading to the Grand Final which determines the champions.

Rugby League Championships

Below the Super League, there are two competitions collectively known as the Kingstone Press Championships—the Championship and Championship 1.

The Championship regular season consists of 26 rounds. Each team plays all other Championship teams home and away once.

The club finishing at the top of the Championship at the end of the regular season will receive the League Leaders’ Shield.  The clubs finishing in the top eight positions in the Championship will participate in the play-offs with the winners of the Championship Grand Final crowned champions.

The five clubs finishing 10th to 14th will be relegated to Championship One, due to the restructing of Rugby League in 2015.

The Championship One regular season consists of 24 rounds, with each club playing 20 regular season fixtures and having four bye rounds during the season.

The clubs finishing 1st to 5th will participate in the Championship One play-offs with the winners of the Championship One Play-off final earning promotion to the Championship.

National Conference League

The NCL sits in tier three of the Rugby League structure.

The NCL is made up of four divisions.

The Premier and First Divisions consist of 14 clubs, with 11 clubs in Division Two and 12 clubs in Division Three. Only the Premier division operates with play-offs to decide the league champions

The NCL voted to switch to a summer season in 2011 and after an interim season from August to November commenced it’s very first full summer campaign on March 3 2012.

Conference League South

Conference League South also sits in tier three and is currently made up of six teams.

Each team in Conference League South plays each other three times during the season with one of the rounds being played at a central venue.

The top four teams will qualify for the end of season play-offs to decide the winner.

Regional Leagues

Regional Leagues make up the base of the Rugby League pyramid.  

Regional Leagues exist throughout the UK and consist of playing opportunties for Men, Women, Boys and Girls starting from the age of six. 

Regional League competitons are mainly made up of the traditional forms of the game however they also include exciting alternatives like Wheelchair Rugby League.