Club Finder

Find Your Nearest Rugby League Club

Experience The Extraordinary

European Cup

european cup

In 2010, Rugby League was being played in more countries on the continent than ever before. The Rugby League European Federation had expanded its borders in all directions, and by the end of the year, had crowned not only European but Atlantic champions too.

Wales, who first took the continental title in 1936, claimed their sixth European crown, and second since 1995 defeating France 12-11 on October 23 in their own backyard at Stade Municipale d'Albi.  

Finally, across the pond in Jacksonville; Jamaica, Canada and the USA played for the second ever Atlantic Cup. Canada joined Jamaica and the USA in the competition having only formed a national side during the course of the year. The competition therefore took on a round robin format after the single game, winner takes all format of 2009. The Americans defeated both their opponents en-route to the title which was awarded to the highest placed team at the end of the tournament.